Life As A Nomad: No Time For Anything

Road life is road life. There is no time for anything else.

Since I last wrote anything we’ve been to Illinois, Michigan and Ohio and it’s all been a big whirlwind. Unless I ask, I usually don’t know what city I’m in or where I’m going next. I plug an address into the GPS and I hope that it takes me to the correct place.

The Bean - Chicago, Illinois

The Bean – Chicago, Illinois

Chicago, Illinois

The place I was most excited to see, the place I saw the least. We had 14 events in 5 days while in Chicago while my manger was also in town to visit. We woke up at 6 AM every day and worked until 10 PM every night. I had 5 hours of sleep, if lucky.

The ground we covered in Chicago was awesome, sharing our presentation with thousands of high school and college students all over Illinois. I presented about 8 times that week so I feel pretty professional now.

That being said, it was hard to get up every day feeling so physically and mentally drained. At least now I can know that the worst is behind me.

As for what I saw in Illinois? Nothing. We drove through the city a lot though so I know that I would like to go back. I’d like to see “the Bean” in daylight (we did manage to see it for about 15 minutes one night) or ride the aboveground subway. The city has a great vibe and, dare I say it, I think I may like it better than NYC. I had high hopes for Chicago and even though I didn’t see much my hopes were surpassed which makes me think that it is definitely somewhere I have to go again in the future!

Ypsilanti, Michigan

Anywhere called Ypsilanti has to be amazing!

The leaves were all sorts of colours and the weather was nippy and perfect. We stayed with amazing contacts at night and had one of our best events at a dance pavilion with a guy named Mike. He had heard about LiNK after reading “Escape from Camp 14” and called into HQ in July to book an event with us. He’s a young guy, passionate about the NK people and dance. The event raised tons of money for the organization, people were truly touched, and we even had a massive dance party afterward which was a lot of fun! It was the most unique event that we’ve had yet and also the most fulfilling.

Unfortunately we weren’t in Michigan for too long. We stopped by Grand Rapids too and my team and I all determined that Michigan was one of our favourite states in terms of events, people, and nature.

Amish - Somewhere, Ohio

Amish – Somewhere, Ohio

Who-Knows-Where, Ohio

Ohio depresses the life out of me. Except for the Amish, in which we drove through an Amish community today, I can’t be bothered to say more about Ohio apart from my dream of leaving this terrible place.

And that’s what I’ve been up to and all that I’ve seen. We have an event tonight so we’d better get going to that.

Ciao for now!

 

Leave a comment