Goodbye 2014

New Years Eve 2014. Eating homemade gnocchi, homemade cinnamon buns, and writing my night away.

New Years Eve 2014. Eating homemade gnocchi, homemade cinnamon buns, and writing my night away.

This year has been one of extreme highs and extreme lows.

I entered the year wondering how it could top the last since 2013 was Rome and Rome was my everything. I brought in 2014 in Cuba at a resort, nearly missing the huge New Years celebration because I was tired and wanted to duck out and go to bed early. Thankfully my conscience wouldn’t allow it so I jumped out of bed, threw on some clothes, and made it in time to dance with my mom and sister as it became 2014.

I tried to figure myself out the whole year, working, then becoming unemployed, and then taking an internship with Liberty in North Korea working harder then I have ever done before. The ups and downs were real these past few months, but I am so thankful for all that I have seen and done. It’s made me into who I am today! And thus because of it, I have met some amazing people and have memories that will stay with me forever. But now a whole new year is starting, I become a year older, and I am still trying to figure out my path.

When I was 12 I thought that I would be married by 22 and have my first child by 24. Thank goodness that isn’t the case although I do wish I was a bit more clear on what I’m supposed to do with be life and where I’m supposed to be. But in the meantime, here’s to a new year with new resolutions.

This year I hope to…

Explore somewhere that   I never have before.

Learn what is good and bad for m y body and implement that into my daily routine.

Gain confidence in myself and realize that I am a pretty cool and well accomplished person.

Stay positive.

Introduce myself to strangers.

Find a job that I enjoy.

Keep up with friends living abroad.

Make new friends at home.

Go out of my comfort zone (more than once a week).

Become patient. Stay patient. Have more patience.

Learn how to become selfless.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye 2014

  1. Happy New Year to you Natasha! I agree you are cool and well accomplished. Those are great goals. I have a goal to have more meaningful conversations with people. After reading yours, I am adding to go out of my comfort zone – I have gotten used to staying within my comfort zone most of the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

