Life As A Nomad: Finished

The Fall 2014 Nomads.

                      The Fall 2014 Nomads.

There were some days that I didn’t think I would finish but now it is one day since the goodbyes in office and I’m coming to realize that I’m done.

Reflecting on things that have happened over a span of time is something that is not new to me. I did this after leaving Europe the first time (with bible school and all), then leaving Europe and Rome back in 2013. Now I leave California after doing the toughest internship known to mankind, after meeting the most amazing people, and after sleeping an average of 5 hours every night for over 130 days.

It really is bittersweet. I don’t know what I’m doing next with life except arriving home on December 20th, this Saturday, and sleeping for the next couple of days. I need a job, any sort of job to make up all the money I spent while on the road!

Leaving my friends that I’ve made is going to be really difficult. I’ve met some of the most amazing people and I will never forget them. I’m lucky to think that since travel is an interest that brings us all together, we will see each other over the next couple of years! I’ve already had to say goodbye to one of my Great Plains teammates. Tomorrow the goodbyes start all over again.

Thanks I will miss:

1) My GP team. We had our ups, we had our downs, but in everything we were there for each other. Michele, Julie, and George – you guys are family and I love you. Thanks for everything!

2) Freedom. Traveling across America in a van is crazy! I enjoyed the times where we cruised down roads, through rolling hills blanketed with colourful fall leaves. Driving when the sun was setting. Exploring new towns. Work as a Nomad is a constant but the few moments we could break free from everything and just enjoy our freedom driving to Who-Knows-Where, USA was bliss.

3) British Folk and RL Burnside – GP’s favourite music.

4) Relaxing with my friends in the disgustingly dirty intern house.

5) My fellow Nomads – a special shoutout to Laine, Tatz, Shellie, and Tiff who helped me stabilize my emotions during training and are some of the best people I’ve met in life.

6) The cool coffee shops Michele introduced me to while on the road.

7) Days off in middle-America with GP.

8) Family dinners.

9) Febreeze.

10) Living in a van. As much as I hated it, I actually kinda loved it. My van was my home and the place where I went whenever I needed one constant. I hope that I get the chance to travel around America again like that, hopefully seeing more than what I did last time. It’s an amazing way to get around and I can’t wait to do it again!

GP!

TEAM GP!

2 thoughts on “Life As A Nomad: Finished

Leave a Reply

