Is What I’m Doing Worth It?

Today is the day that I’d usually upload my “photo of the day” post.

I want to do it, I’m going to do it, but right now I am just too excited about the prospects of having internet and a slight bit of time off. I’ll publish the photo post a bit later.

Life has been freaking hectic. It’s been more than anything that I ever could have imagined.

When I interviewed to be a LiNK Nomad, they told me that hours would be as early as 5 AM to as late as 10 PM. As a rational person I just assumed that it meant that I’d be working 8 or 9 hour days from 5 AM or to 10 PM. Not 5 AM to 9 PM. Or excuse me – it’s been 6:30 AM to 9 PM. No big deal.

So that’s why I haven’t been updating my blog. I have no time at all. I’m constantly working on bookings, practicing speeches, studying all I can possibly know about North Korea – I never get one minute of time to myself except when I’m in the shower but even then someone may be getting ready in the bathroom while I wash my hair. It’s crazy!

Okay – but here’s the big questions: am I happy?

Yes, I think I am. Apart from being more tired then I’ve ever been before, I love the people that are in this thing with me. We live together, we work together and we are never apart. Thus it feels like I’ve known everyone for more than just 3 weeks. It feels like I’ve been here for 3 years.

On top of that, I am inspired. Liberty in North Korea is an amazing organization that I wish more people would know about. They seek to change the narrative about North Korea so that we focus on the people and not the government. By doing this people become more aware about the North Korean people and want to do something to support them – which is where the amazing part of LiNK comes in. To date they have rescued 265 defectors from North Korea and have helped them restart their lives in the USA and South Korea.

This week was beyond amazing as I got to meet 2 North Korean defectors – Joseph Kim and Yeonmi Park. They’re famous spokespeople for North Korea and are inspirational, motivational and wise beyond their years. When I heard their stories about North Korea and all the hardships they faced, I knew that I needed to help. I am so happy to be able to call these two my friends after spending a week together and learning more about each other. Furthermore, I am so blessed to be living the life I have so that I can help the people of North Korea achieve their liberty.

So yes – despite everything, despite all the craziness – what I’m doing is definitely worth it.

2 thoughts on “Is What I’m Doing Worth It?

Leave a Reply

