Travel Bucket List: Israel

My mom recently commented on one of my past posts stating that Israel was on her travel bucket list. Well, I’m no exception to this.

Israel holds a special place in my heart because it is, in a sense, my birth place! Now, I’m going to go all philosophical for a moment but hang in there…

It’s my birthplace because Christianity began in Israel. I am a Christian and my identity is in Christ. Therefore without Israel and without Christ, I would not be who I am today.

I don’t really care to go to Israel to see all the spots that people claim that Jesus was born. I was watching a documentary a while back and there was a clip of this ornate shrine covered in gold that apparently was the birthplace of Christ. I doubt it was. I don’t care exactly where He was born or even where he died. It’s unlikely that people know these places as fact. Just being in Israel and walking to places that were mentioned in the bible like the Dead Sea is enough!

The history of Israel and the Jewish people fascinate me. Furthermore, I am interested in the Islam faith as well. The claims that all three religions have on Israel (ie. Christianity, Islam, and Judaism) are intense and I would love to get a better understanding of it all.

A final note:Β I realize that Israel and Palestine come asΒ a package deal. I would like to go to both countries, despite their animosity towards each other. Each country is important and involves the birth and evolution of Christianity and therefore they are important to me.Β 

Jerusalem_Dome_of_the_rock_BW_14

 

Leave a Reply

