One Picture

I’m writing this in Goreme, Turkey on the patio of our hotel. There’s a cool breeze rustling through the trees and in front of me I can see a vast landscape of rock jutting up high into the air. Every so often I can see windows and doors cut out into this rock telling me that these rocks are homes to people living in this area. Behind me is my hotel room – also in a cave inside of rock. It’s idyllic really. Idyllic is the best word to describe everything that I’ve seen and done over the past month and now in Goreme, my second to last stop, I am coming to the realization of how sad I am that it is soon to be over.Β 

I know that I’ve talked about the excitement I have of coming home – and I am very excited to go home next Thursday after one year abroad! It’s just that, well, home is home and sometimes it can be boring, predictable, and very little adventure can come of it. Living abroad this year in Italy was an adventure, now travelling through Europe with my sisters has been adventure – my heart yearns for adventure!

*Side note: I blame my parents for introducing me to my love of travelling. It’s their fault I can think of nothing else but the places I have yet to explore!*

Alright. Since it’s impossible to sum up each place I’ve been with words I will post a picture – just one picture – of every city we’ve visited. Ready?

Cinque Terre, Italy – One of the most breathtaking places I’ve ever been. Pictures cannot properly display the beauty. I hope to return here one day (my honeymoon perhaps?)

Nice, France – I could float in that ocean for hours…

Paris, France - Lover's Bridge.

Paris, France – Lover’s Bridge.

Bremen, Germany - The musicians of Bremen.

Bremen, Germany – The musicians of Bremen.

Berlin, Germany - On of my favourite cities in Europe because of the fascinating history it holds. WW2, the Berlin Wall, the Cold War - it has it all!

Berlin, Germany – One of my favourite cities in Europe because of the fascinating history it holds. WW2, the Berlin Wall, the Cold War – it has it all!

Prague, Czech Republic - My favourite city in Europe. We woke up at 4:30 AM to get this picture of Charles Bridge without the hordes of tourists.

Prague, Czech Republic – My favourite city in Europe. We woke up at 4:30 AM to get this picture of Charles Bridge without the hordes of tourists.

Vienna, Austria - This is the Schonbrunn Palace. Dare I say it...I think I liked this palace better then Versailles! An unexpected beauty in Vienna!

Vienna, Austria – This is the Schonbrunn Palace. Dare I say it…I think I liked this palace better then Versailles! An unexpected beauty in Vienna!

Ephesus, Turkey - We've left Europe now. Turkey is up there on the highlights of our trip. The biblical history of Ephesus, the beautiful Aegean and the friendliness of the people is unbeatable!

Ephesus, Turkey – We’ve left Europe now. Turkey is up there on the highlights of our trip. The biblical history of Ephesus, the beautiful Aegean and the friendliness of the people is unbeatable!

Goreme, Turkey - A unique place to visit that is adding on to my love of Turkey even more!

Goreme, Turkey – A unique place to visit that is adding on to my love of Turkey even more!

And so there you have it. We are off to Istanbul tomorrow which I am looking forward to with great anticipation. Our last stop before Thalia leaves for Switzerland and Lyss and I head on home!

Until next time…

3 thoughts on “One Picture

  1. I love everything about this post. You are an amazing photographer thanks for making me feel like I shared it with you even in just one photo! I’m so glad you have been having such a great adventure with your sisters. I agree with you perfectly about home and the mixed feelings you have. Just trust its not over yet. Its just once again another change and bend in the road where you can no longer quite see what is waiting around the corner. Love you to the moon and far beyond and look forward to the next time I see you..Canada? Ga? Mexico?? Who knows where!! πŸ˜€ xoxox

    Like

  2. Pingback: Beautiful Ruins, Jess Walter | A Novel Thing

Leave a Reply

