Esplorando Italia

Living in Rome makes it possible to easily travel around Italy. Trains aren’t too expensive while Rome is a great starting out point that is in the centre of many beautiful cities and towns. Before I came to Rome in September 2012 I had already visited Rome, Florence,

Friends in Florence

Friends in Florence

and Venice and I fell in love with the country. Since I’ve been back I have visited Florence yet again, Pisa, Orvieto, Naples, Pompeii, Assisi and Foligno. I know each city deserves a post just for itself. They are all so beautiful and each location is filled with fantastic memories that I could write about for ages! But seeing as I am now months behind in writing I figure I’ll do one post and see where I get. So let me start with Florence…

Candice, Jasmin and I went to Florence back in March. I’d visited Florence in 2009 and loved the beautiful Renaissance buildings, the sculptures, the art, the open-air markets, and the history that this amazing city encompassed. Going back a second time was like some strange flash-back to my time with Sydney and Lesya four years earlier. I remembered walking the streets with those girls for the first time and now here I was, four years later, with new friends making new memories in an old city.

A view from Piazza Michelangelo

A view from Piazza Michelangelo

Florence is a small city and since we were there for just a day we didn’t go in to and museums. After getting lost in the streets and hitting a couple main piazzas we walked up hill to Piazza Michelangelo where we were able to see the most beautiful view of the entire city. Saying this was the highlight of my time in Florence would be an understatement. Somehow seeing a city from up high adds a whole new dimension to it. The colours of the buildings and looking at the beautiful architecture of structures hundreds of years old was what made this city stand out to me. We spent a couple hours up there in the wind taking pictures, listening to street musicians play the guitar… It was during this moment that I realized how amazing my life is and that I am so fortunate for the opportunity to travel and take in moments like this.

The duomo

The duomo

That night the girls and I tried to find some sort of night-life in Florence. Our hostel was small and we didn’t want to spend an early night inside when we had Florence at our fingertips. This being said we failed miserably. Night life in Italy is pretty intense. It doesn’t get started until around midnight and so I guess us looking for things to do at 10:30 PM would seem laughable to the locals. We walked that city like crazy looking for some sort of commotion and some fun for us to be part of. Nothing. So instead we went back to the hostel and played twister with a couple of guys we met in the hostel. An interesting night it was…

The next morning we slept in a bit and then took a train to Pisa. The weather was beautiful and although it was only March we were in t-shirts and soaking up the sun. As we walked towards the Leaning Tower of Pisa I was in awe. The sky was blue, the grass was green and I was looking at one of the most infamous structures in the whole world. I think going to Pisa has been one of the biggest highlights of my entire trip and I am not entirely certain as to why. I see beautiful buildings every day in Italy. I have seen many amazing

The Leaning Tower of Pisa

The Leaning Tower of Pisa

buildings throughout all of Europe! But Pisa really struck a chord in me and made me  realize, once again, how amazing the things are that I am able to do and see on nearly an every day basis.

Imagine this: Sitting on freshly cut green grass (the smell of freshly cut grass is one of my favourites). Blue skies above. Friends beside you. Looking at the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Up to this point nothing that I have seen since coming to Italy in September has matched what I felt on that day. Complete and utter bliss is the only way I can describe it.

Okay, who am I fooling. Am I really going to write about the next 4 cities in this blog post as well? Soon, soon. I will write about Naples and Pompeii very soon!

2 thoughts on “Esplorando Italia

  1. Lovely, Tash. Did I already tell you about my time in Pisa in 1978—when we could still climb it!?
    I’m so happy to hear you had the perfect day there. You look amazing, sitting in front of the tower!

    Like

    • That would have been amazing! Pisa is still open for people to climb but you have to pay an arm and a leg to do it. Needless to say, I didn’t want to cough up the money…looking at it was enough for me 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

