I Problemi Occasionali

Being an Au Pair comes with it’s ebbs and flows. Most people probably assume that my life is pretty amazing. I live in Italy in one of the most beautiful and historical cities in the world. I get free accommodations and food in exchange for taking care of three little children throughout the week. You know what? You’re right. My life is pretty good.

This being said, some of you may have noticed the facebook post I wrote earlier. Yesterday was one of the worst days I’ve had since being here. Being told that you aren’t doing a good job, that someone is disappointed with you, that the children don’t like you, and that you don’t feel like part of the family but more of a housekeeper hurts. It really hurts.

Yesterday I felt that pain but today, after many encouraging words from my family back home and my amazing friends (my family in Rome), I realize that I can’t let these things hurt me. I know the truth which is this: I love these children and I care about them. And I know they love and care about me right back.

So, starting today I am going to try and show the family love – even more than I already have. They will have so much love they won’t even know what to do with it all!

One more thing. Communication. Until yesterday I didn’t know that I wasn’t fulfilling my required job as an Au Pair. I wish that had been communicated to me earlier to avoid me feeling unhappy and ashamed. But, what’s done is done. I’ve told my family that communication is important to me so hopefully from now on the communication between us will be improved.

Therefore I think that love and communication  will be the way I look at my job through this New Year. Love for the family and communication for my sanity.

4 thoughts on “I Problemi Occasionali

  1. SUCH a good attitude! You know what? This is a normal conversation when overseas. I had the same sad and ashamed confrontation from someone here in Korea. Apparently I wasn’t doing what was expected of me, either. It gets better. The take home message for me was this: at the end of the day, you should just do your best. That is what makes God proud, and that’s really the only person we should be aiming to please. And I know for a fact you’ve been doing your best, and God IS already so proud of you!!

    Like

  2. I already left a comment on your fb wall, so this is just an aside: I LOVE your titles! Love the fact that they’re in Italian (or whatever country you’re blogging about! ). so cool. Keep writing, Tash. We are your cheerleaders. Glad you’ve got some there in Rome, too!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

