To start things off…

In a little more than a week I am uprooting myself from my cozy home in Port Coquitlam, Canada to move to one of the most cosmopolitan and breathtaking cities in the world. Whenever I tell someone that I’ll be living in Rome for the next year they immediately respond by saying how ‘brave’ I am and how jealous they are. Truth be told, although I am very excited for my new experience, lately I’ve been finding myself to be quite nervous. I’m leaving everything familiar behind and starting a new life in a new country that uses a different language and where I won’t be able to run to my family or friends any time something goes wrong. I am trying not to think of the negative things that could happen but get excited about all the positive things that will happen!

What am I doing in Rome in the first place? Well, that’s a very good question. From what I understand I will be an Au Pair for 3 little children and my primary job will be to teach them English. I will help them with their homework in English and thus my basic responsibility is to get them as fluent in English as possible. The job sounds ideal as I will have my days off and will work mostly in the evening. Weekends are off too and I’ll be able to visit Rome and it’s surroundings on my time off. I’m not sure exactly what to expect and will let you know the details as soon as I know them myself.

Getting in a good habit of writing in this blog will take some time so bare with me for a little bit.

And that’s all I have for now folks.

Bye!

P.S. I’m going to Reykjavik, Iceland for the last 9 days in August too. Next post will most likely be from that tiny island up North!

2 thoughts on “To start things off…

  1. To think of the positive things each day should continue to be your strategy – it’s a really good one! I should know, since it’s my strategy here in Korea! I try to think of one highlight per day, and that usually makes me feel better 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

